Liberez – Grease The Axles

• “Grease The Axles” original music video. Thanks to Night School Records.

8.4 “Fantastic Avant-Garde from England”

From their album “All Tense Now Lax” released in July, 2015.

What a mighty sound – a masterclass in gut-churning dynamism. This group from Southend are now well into their second decade as their website tells:

Liberez is the long term collaborative project of musician and recording engineer John Hannon. Formed in 2003 Liberez took their name from the cover art of a French bootleg MC5 7” which demanded ‘Liberez Wayne Kramer!,’ who was incarcerated at the time of release. This early line up consisted of Hannon, Pete Wilkins, Mick Cain and Kev Hutchins and recorded and self-released three CD-r albums, Liberez 1, Liberez 2 and Paint the Light Black. This line up disbanded in 2009. In 2010, Cumbria-based multi-instrumentalist Tom James Scott met Hannon at the latter’s No Recording Studio in Essex, and soon after relocated to join the Liberez fold, his expansive style and use of space and field recordings bringing about a new direction. Close friend Nina Bosnic was brought in to the line-up on vocals, and consequent recordings based on Bosnic’s texts became the first official Liberez record, The Letter, a vinyl only release on Luke Younger’s (aka Helm) label, Alter. 2011 The next record, with the same line up ‘Sane Men Surround’. Originally a limited vinyl press on the label Savoury days was later released on cd by Alter), 2013. Scott relocated back to Barrow-in-Furness to focus on his own music, and the line-up proceeded to continue as a three piece, resulting in the record All Tense Now Lax for Night School Records in 2015.

This was another heard on Lee Adcock’s very fine October 2015 show on Dandelion Radio.

You’ll find it on good ol’ Bandcamp.