Bruce Springsteen – Factory

• “Factory” set to a picture of the housing album cover. Thanks to Jonathan Enright.

7.7 “Great Folk Rock / Americana from the USA”

From his album “Darkness On The Edge Of Town” (Columbia JC-35318) released in 1978.

Now then, here’s that Bruce Springsteen track that you’ve been dying to hear since Tuesday : – )

I can’t say the (highly acclaimed) housing LP did much for me, but this track is boss – I guess I’m a sucker for a working class hero.

There’s no escapism here – this is sheer drudgery. This is how it is. Apparently, it’s a song he wrote with his own father in mind. Although they never got on well, he later came to appreciate the sacrifices that his old man had made for him.

When I went to work, I really went to work in my dad’s clothes, and it became a way, I suppose, that I honored him and my parents’ lives, and a part of my own young life. And then it just became who I was.

Bruce’s brand of AOR will never truly rock my world but he seems like a good lad… and he most certainly had his moments, such as “Factory“. Dig that Blonde on Blonde warmth, oh yes…

You can read the rest of my favoured album reviews from ’78 here.

Leave a Reply

