Pusbunny – Big Lad

• “Big Lad” set to a picture of Pusbunny.

8.4 “Fantastic Lo-Fi from Scotland”

From his album Songs Of Hate And Pastries released in 2009.

Pusbunny’s fantastic Big Lad is once heard, never forgotten. I was super-stoked to be re-united with this one, you know that way? Like you hear a song once, you love it, but somehow don’t quite get around to picking up a copy. So when I recently heard Lee Adcock spinning this in her June 2015 show on Dandelion Radio it was just like bumping into an old friend for the first time in years, and a warm glow was left. It seems like it can’t be bought anywhere though. Since Lee played it, it seems to have disappeared off the market, so if you want it you’ll just have to somewhat grubbily tape it off YouTube. It’s a lo-fi piece by design though, so it shouldn’t make too much difference.

Pusbunny was the solo lo-fi punk-comic outlet for the Paisley-based multi-instrumentalist Tim Wilson who describes himself as “a gay, schizophrenic recluse”. His one-man super-band provides vocals, guitar, bass, drums, keyboards, trumpet, baritone-horn, squeezebox and recorders to back up his irreverent and puerile anthems of gay sex, love, hate and pastries which veer between the innocently joyful and the downright disgusting. Other (more serious) projects for the artist between 2006 and 2014 have included Poppykillers, My Turps Hell, Seedhill Bruiser and Three Day Weeks.

In Big Lad, he dishes out the ultimate retribution for the sneeky ones who would have it away with your last Kit Kat, even though you had cleverly hidden it behind the castor oil. DO NOT MESS WITH PUSBUNNY!

You ate my pie
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my biscuit, thought you would risk it
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my sponge-cake, that was a mistake
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my fig roll, you have got no soul
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my budgie, that was uncalled for
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my sofa, I was dumbfounded
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my bedroom, where will I sleep now?
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my parents, now I’m an orphan
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my city, you made me homeless
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my country, you were so hungry
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
You ate my planet, you are a big lad
YOU’RE GONNA DIE!
BIG LAD!

Leave a Reply

