dälek – Police State Is Nervous

• “Police State Is Nervous” original music video. Thanks to lilithfilm.

9.6 “All-time classic Hip Hop / Rap from the USA”

First published via YouTube in December 2014.

dälek (pronounced ‘Die-a-leck’) is an American experimental hip hop group from Newark, New Jersey, led by Will Brooks, aka MC dälek. dälek’s music is dark, noisy and atmospheric, equally inspired by industrial music like Einstürzende Neubauten, the layered noise of My Bloody Valentine and the dense sound collages of Public Enemy.

“America don’t lynch no more, nah, that’s what we got the cops for.”

Ooft. The number of unarmed blacks that have been killed in recent times is staggering, whatever the stories behind the cases various. Check this out, it’s eye-watering stuff.

Says Brooks:

“I’m just trying to do my part through music. I don’t know … I don’t mean to sound defeatist in my tone, but it feels like at this point, what is it going to take to make change? I mean, look at the Eric Garner case. We basically watched a snuff film, and that’s still not enough. I would love a conviction, but that’s not even what has me infuriated. We can’t even get a motherfucking trial?! You can’t even put on a show for us? They won’t even go through those steps? That’s an ugly sign.”

I’m going to have check more of these guys, mos’ def.

Introduced to me via Dandelion Radio, namely Pete Jackson’s February 2015 show.

Leave a Reply

