Van Morrison – Into The Mystic [live ’73]

• “Into The Mystic [live ’73]” set to a picture of the housing album cover. Thanks to CrustyCurmudgeon.

8.9 “Excellent Soul from Northern Ireland”

From his live double-album “It’s Too Late To Stop Now” (Warner Bros. Records K-86007) released in 1974.

Here comes Van to rock your jelly roll soul. Works for me.

I was in two minds as to whether I should be posting this one, what with “Into The Mystic” being far from a “new discovery” for me – I’ve had it some 20 years via “Moondance” (1970).

However, I recently picked up his live album “It’s Too Late To Stop Now” which was recorded during his summer tour of ’73 with his eleven-piece band, the Caledonia Soul Orchestra. As you can hear they’re all on terrific form – feel the warmth in the house.

I’m not usually a big fan of live records – live should be a real-life experience – but this is a good ‘un.

You can check out my favoured album reviews for 1974 here.

Leave a Reply

