Mott The Hoople – I Wish I Was Your Mother

• “I Wish I Was Your Mother” set to a picture of the housing album cover. Thanks to GeeDubs7.

7.7 “Great Cerebral Pop from England”

From their sixth album “Mott” (CBS S-69038) released in 1973.

At the time of release they were: Ian Hunter (34, lead vocals, piano, guitar); Mick Ralphs (29, guitar, organ, mandolin, backing vocals); Pete Watts (26, bass guitar, backing vocals) and Dale Griffin (24, drums, backing vocals).

They’d been in session for John Peel at the beginning of the decade, and were one of the few “glam” bands which had some degree of street cred.

I’ve never been a big fan, but they certainly had their moments. “I Wish I Was Your Mother” closed the album splendidly; unashamedly revelling in Dylanism.

The drummer, Dale Griffin, went on to be the producer of numerous Peel sessions from 1981 to 1994, including OMD, Pulp, Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana and countless others.

You can check out my favoured album reviews for 1973 here.

Leave a Reply

