Paul Simon – Paranoia Blues

• “Paranoia Blues” set to a picture of the housing album cover. Thanks to Noognick Shpilcous.

7.5 “Great Blues / Rhythm n Blues from the USA”

From his debut solo album “Paul Simon” (Columbia KC-30750) released in January, 1972.

My favourite on the set is “Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard” but since that was already in my collection it’s strictly out of bounds for this here new-discoveries blog.

“Paranoia Blues” was a big bluesy surprise on the LP – I get the feeling that Paul Simon could deliver an authentic indian raga if he so desired.

New York gets it tight, ouch!

I got the paranoia blues
From knockin’ around In New York City
Where they roll you for a nickel
And they stick you for the extra dime

Anyway you choose
You’re bound to lose in New York City
Oh I just got out in the nick of time
Well I just got out in the nick of time

You can check out my favoured album reviews for 1972 here.

Leave a Reply

