Jethro Tull – Wond’ring Aloud

• “Wond’ring Aloud” set to a picture of the housing album cover. Thanks to Egista07.

7.9 “Great Folk from England”

From their fourth album “Aqualung” (Island Records ILPS-9145) released in March, 1971.

Considering this acclaimed album has sold over 7,000,000 units I’m surprised that I quite liked some of it. I never had Jethro Tull down as a band that’d chime agreeably with rebel sensibilities, which just goes to show I just can’t trust me. Haha, don’t get me wrong, I’m not head over heels or owt (the album rated at 5·86), but there are a few decent cuts – “Mother Goose” and “Cheap Day Return” being the others. I seem to like them best when they’re more acoustic-folky than fully amped and rocky.

Wond’ring Aloud” is the standout for me – a beautiful bit of feel-good song-writing from the recently married Ian Anderson, with a subtle dash of nudge-nudge wink-wink. It’s all about the simple pleasures – we are our own saviours, it’s all about the giving, breakfast in bed, don’t complicate it…

Wond’ring aloud —
Will the years treat us well
As she floats in the kitchen
I’m tasting the smell
Of toast as the butter runs
Then she comes, spilling crumbs on the bed
And I shake my head
[Outro]
And it’s only the giving
That makes you what you are

You can check out my favoured album reviews for 1971 here.

Leave a Reply

