Sauna Youth – Transmitters

• “Transmitters” original music video. Thanks to Upset The Rhythm.

9.2 “Classic Punk from England”

Top-notch action from these London-based punkers who line up: Richard Phoenix (drums, vocals), Lindsay Corstorphine (guitar), Jen Calleja (vocals, sampler) and Christopher Murphy (bass).

I wanna wanna wanna take your call from a transmitter embedded in my skull”. 

An interesting concept, as I’m sure we can all agree.

I can’t wait to get in and about their Summer ’15 album – it’s in my endless pile awaiting review; my impression is it’ll be one of the best of the year, which I’ll probably confirm  sometime in 2017 (rolls eyes). Meanwhile, at least I’ve made a start by rating the title track; “Transmitters was voted as the 3rd best record of the year on the 2015 Festive 50.

Speaking of this track, Upset the Rhythm’s album overview comments: “By singing every word at the same time, Ecke (Calleja) and Boon (Phoenix) create a unified voice of no specific gender, allowing the songs to be sung from multiple perspectives, from a place of shared experience. The song’s lyrics branch out of ideas of Transhumanism; looking for a way to live forever, for something that makes us last, like recordings: ‘I want my thoughts scratched into plastic/hear my voice on an endless loop/I like persistence’ they sing in unison”.

Well, my nano-thoughts, perma-scrawled onto this here blog, are that they are sounding every bit as good as primetime Buzzcocks, and it’s terrific to see them get some recognition as such via that chart placing. The album is available here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

