The Bobbettes – I Shot Mr. Lee

• “I Shot Mr. Lee” set to a later compilation cover. Thanks to thecountofbasie.

8.2 “Fantastic Rock n Roll / Rockabilly from the USA”

Just picked up on this courtesy of its appearance on “The Golden Age Of American Rock ‘n’ Roll Volume 10”

The cutesy-pie Bobbettes were famous for “Mr Lee”, which was apparently inspired by a schoolteacher that the girls strongly despised. It was originally written as an insult to Mr. Lee, but their record company, Atlantic Records, told them to revise it into a loving tribute to him.

Their true feelings came out when their follow on “I Shot Mr Lee” was recorded and released in 1960 on Triple X records.

I picked up my gun
And I went to his door
I picked up my gun
And I went to his door
Now Mr. Lee can jive me no more

He hollered help, help
Murder, police
The girl’s after me with a gun
He Hollered help, help, murder, police
The girl’s after me with a gun

Six, seven, eight
Mr. Lee had a date
Nine, ten, eleven
Now he’s up in heaven

Shot him in the head
Boom boom, whoa oh
Shot him in the head
Boom boom, whoa oh

A recording once heard, never forgotten.

Murder police!!!

Leave a Reply

